Saturday, March 26, 2011

Paula Made the Call

Paula Creamer made the call all on her own. No living room rules official with high def tv had to speed dial the Kia Classic and tattle on this classy professional. She saw when her club accidentally touched the sand in a bunker during her backswing and immediately called the two stroke penalty on herself. That's the way the game has been played for eons...players calling penalties on themselves.

Listening to Paula being interviewed was impressive. She eloquently stated that the rules are the rules, she saw it happen and there was no question that the penalty had to be called. Those are the lessons in sportsmanship that need to be broadcast for adults and youth to hear. It was a significant call as she finished the day tied for 60th rather than tied for 34th. Paula will always be able to look herself in the mirror as having done the right thing even when no one was looking.

On another note about Paula, I am extremely jealous that she had the opportunity to fly in an F-16 with the Thunderbirds. Looked like a blast. I came close one time to a ride with the Thunderbirds however my best airplane experience is when I was fortunate enough to fly Crazy Horse, a dual controlled P-51 Mustang. I did aerobatics for an hour and then got to land the great bird. What a thrill.

Keep Swinging!


- Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

No comments: